Zenit youth players compete in U-19 European Cup

The European Championship qualification round among U-19 teams continues. The Zenit-Y players Nikita Bocharov and Solomon Kverkvelia are taking part in the tournament for their national sides.

Nikita Bocharov left for Russian national team duty on September 27, while Solomon Kverkvelia left for the Georgian national team on October 1. The two Zenit-Y players are starting their group tournaments in the European Cup qualification round at various times. The reason is simple – UEFA is holding a tournament made up of 52 teams in 13 different countries this year. The Russian side is playing in Sweden, while the Georgians are playing in Portugal.

Nikita Bocharov played for the Russian national youth team in its first two matches so far, against the hosts, Sweden, and against the Danes. In both matches the youth team halfback came onto the field in the second half. In the match against the Swedes Nikita Bocharov came on in the 62nd minute, and scored in overtime. Russian won the match 4:2. In the match with the Danes Bocharov came onto the field after halftime and had a part in Russia`s goal. That said Russia U-19 lost the match, giving up two goals right at the end. Russia plays its deciding match at 16.00 St. Petersburg time on Tuesday against its peers from Ukraine.

Zenit`s Georgian fullback Solomon Kverkvelia will start playing for his country`s youth side in European Cup qualification against Greece. Georgia has been practicing for several days in Portugal until now. On Wednesday Kverkvelia`s side will play against Portugal, and on Saturday will play against its peers from Azerbaijan.

Not only Zenit-Y players will play for the Russian national team. The Russian 1995 birthdays side includes the Zenit Academy players Daniil Slepukhin and Stepan Rebenko. The young men will play two friendlies in Krymsk against their peers from Azerbaijan. The latter side has one Zenit player as well – Elvin Badalov. The Russian 1996 birthdays side has four players from the Zenit Academy: Alexey Gasilin, Igor Obukhov, Maxim Rudakov, and Pavel Osipov