Zenit won our first title in the club's history 39 years ago today

The team from Leningrad beat Metallist Kharkov 4-1 to win the club's first ever league title on 21 November 1984.
Zenit won our first title in the club's history 39 years ago today

The scorers in this important match were Nikolai Larionov, Yuriy Zheludkov and Sergey Dmitriev with two goals.

Overall in the 34 matches of the 1984 season, the team from Leningrad won 19, lost six and drew nine. Zenit ended the season on 47 points, winning the title by four points ahead of Spartak Moscow in second place.

The names of the 1984 champions are now forever engraved in the history of Zenit: the goalkeeper Mikhail Biryukov; defenders Anatoliy Davydov, Vladimir Dolgopolov, Aleksey Stepanov and Sergey Kuznetsov; midfielders Sergey Vedeneev, Valeriy Broshin, Arkadiy Afanasyev, Vyacheslav Melnikov, Dmitriy Barannik and Nikolai Larionov; forwards Yuriy Zheludkov, Vladimir Klementyev, Boris Chukhlov and Sergey Dmitriev.

Valeriy Zolin, Yuriy Gerasimov, Nikolai Vorobyov, Aleksandr Zakharikov, Gennadiy Timofeev and Igor Komarov didn’t receive the medals due to the rules, but they also contributed to this title win. The manager who led the team to this trophy was Pavel Sadyrin.

Zenit congratulate all the fans on the anniversary of the title won in 1984. Every title is a great achievement, but the first one is priceless. Congratulations!


The Zenit Walk of Fame that captures all of the champions over the years can be viewed at https://stars.fc-zenit.ru.